Share this Manuscript

Love Scene, Take Two

Description

Why can't love be like it is in the movies?

see full description

On sale now!

Full Description

Teddy Sharp is kinda famous, and if his latest audition for the lead in the newest YA blockbuster works out, he’ll be REALLY famous. But even being kinda famous doesn’t keep your flights from being cancelled.

Stranded in a small North Carolina airport, he figures his weekend is ruined, until Bennett Caldwell, the author of the very book series he just auditioned for, takes pity on him and invites him to stay at her family’s lake house. Bennett is unlike any girl Teddy’s ever met before, and somehow they just seem to click. But the internet is full of juicy gossip about Teddy's last relationship… gossip that Bennett might not be prepared to handle.

Excerpt

His eyes locked with the girl's in the baseball hat for a split second, and an unexpected jolt shot through his chest.

He'd seen her somewhere before. And how he could almost forget a face like that was beyond him.

The pilot came on the intercom a few minutes later to do the usual pre-flight safety routine, but Teddy was too distracted by the hot girl across the aisle to listen. He didn't want to chance another look at her, but each little movement—a shift of her leg, a reach for her backpack—made it that much worse that Teddy couldn't figure out why she looked so familiar. When the pilot announced to prepare for takeoff, however, the dread that followed managed to upstage all thoughts of jean shorts and baseball caps.

Teddy's anxiety level spiked when the plane jerked forward and the pilot steered them toward the runway. Desperate for a distraction, he flipped through the M.B. Caldwell book without really seeing anything on the inside.

"'Scuse me?"

He almost didn't hear her at first; then she repeated it and Teddy looked to his left. Those blue eyes were on him again, and all the anxiety he felt about taking off was replaced by a different kind of uneasiness.

"Yeah?" he said, his voice cracking. The corner of her mouth quirked up and her eyes dropped to his lap. He shifted nervously in his seat.

"I was wondering," she said, leveling her gaze with his again, "if you like that book you're reading?"

There was that Southern drawl again, but this girl sounded nothing like a redneck. She had the type of subtle accent that made guys like Teddy smile while they listened to it.

Distracted, it took Teddy a second to realize she was talking about the book resting in his lap.

"Oh—uh," he stuttered and glanced down, a grin spreading across his face without his permission. "Haven't started it yet."

"Oh, okay," she replied.

Teddy looked back over and watched her dig through her backpack again despite the plane creeping toward takeoff. She pulled out a thick manilla folder.

"Why?" Teddy asked, not wanting the conversation to end. "Have you read it?"

She smiled. "A few times, actually."

Genre

Purchase Info

Hardcover: $17.99
ISBN 9781250135704

E-book: $9.99
ISBN 9781250135711

Read Excerpt

Praise

"Evansley explores young celebrity romance, texting, and social media in her lively, contemporary debut novel. ... Romance lovers and readers fascinated with Hollywood life (on and off set) should enjoy this flirty of-the-moment tale." —Publishers Weekly

"Bennett and Teddy’s romance is full of fun and flirty banter, chemistry, misunderstandings and miscommunications, and dealing with fame and gossip. ... This new adult/older YA title is the perfect summer novel for fans of Jennifer E. Smith, Jenny Han, and Morgan Matson." —School Library Journal

“A modern, cool, lovable story that easily makes you swoon.” —SofiaTypes, Swoon Reader

“It's the right dose of glitz without the glamour and love without the clichés and it is hilarious! I have no doubt that this story will go far!!” —Unidentified, Swoon Reader