Share this Manuscript

Let's Talk About Love

Description

Alice is about to ace this whole dating thing.

see full description

On sale now!

Full Description

Alice had her whole summer planned. Non-stop all-you-can-eat buffets while marathoning her favorite TV shows (best friends totally included) with the smallest dash of adulting—working at the library to pay her share of the rent. The only thing missing from her plan? Her girlfriend (who ended things when Alice told her she's asexual). Alice is done with dating—no thank you, do not pass go, stick a fork in her, done.

But then Alice meets Takumi and she can’t stop thinking about him or the rom com-grade romance feels she did not ask for (uncertainty, butterflies, and swoons, oh my!).

When her blissful summer takes an unexpected turn and Takumi becomes her knight with a shiny library employee badge (close enough), Alice has to decide if she’s willing to risk their friendship for a love that might not be reciprocated—or understood.

Excerpt

“Who the hell is Takumi?” She folded the post-it note in half before tossing it the trash.

She felt that itch between her shoulder blades when someone stared too long. She tried to take a sly peek to see who it was and… Jesus.

(Sweet God in heaven, have mercy on her soul.)

Her Cutie Code™ blasted straight past the red zone. If it were a pressure gauge, the glass would have cracked right down the middle.

He was gorgeous—and that was not a word Alice threw around lightly. Not just “Hi, I’m the new boy next door” gorgeous, but the kind of gorgeous that would make you slap your mama. The kind of gorgeous you’d stab your best friend of twenty years in the back for, set her house on fire, and drive off into the sunset with her husband gorgeous.

As if she’d actually do any of those things.

She always laughed at characters who lost every last drop of their common sense on TV and in movies when someone too attractive for words crossed their path. If this guy was on a show, he’d be considered the kind of gorgeous that would cause mid-season plot twists and act two spinouts, leaving the viewer on the edge of their seat because their beloved characters were goners after looking into those dark brown eyes.

And he stared at her.

Something flipped a switch inside of Alice. Her internal body temperature had been reset to hellfire. She had to grip the side of the copy machine to keep herself upright. Cara could probably hear her struggling to drag air into her lungs.

(Too much cute.)

(A veritable cutie-induced overload.)

What was this? This had never happened to her before. There was a place for cute and every cute in its place. Whoever that was hadn’t just exceeded her scale. He had broken it.

Cutie Code™: Black—the Next Generation.

Praise

"This book is so charming and funny and bighearted. Kann's Alice (who is biromantic ace) is one of my new favorite YA heroines. I recommend this one for fans of Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl and Sandhya Menon's When Dimple Met Rishi." —Becky Albertalli, author of The Upside of Unrequited and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

"Claire Kann makes an admirable debut with this milestone for ace visibility." —Entertainment Weekly

"Let’s Talk About Love truly shines in its depiction of the diverse range of life experiences its characters go through, and was an enjoyable read from cover to cover. I’ll certainly be looking forward to what Claire Kann does next." —Hypable

"Kann’s debut is a masterpiece that highlights what it is like to love—whatever that means to you." —TeenReads

"A light, enjoyable asexual romance with outstanding representation." —School Library Journal

"A timely, nuanced, and diverse debut." —Booklist

"Debut novelist Kann thoughtfully tackles what it means to be asexual and gives Alice a platform to discover who she is and what it means for her relationship with Takumi. Asexual readers will appreciate the visibility, and those—like Alice’s ex—who know [they] poorly understand it, will gain a better sense of what love without sex can look like." —Publishers Weekly

"A cast of supportive friends and accessible, often humorous prose recommend this refreshingly diverse intersectional romance." —The Horn Book

"I’m in need of a setting to give this novel 6 out of 5 stars because holy crap y’all, this novel changed my life. . . . I can’t even express to you all what it felt like to see the words 'biromantic asexual' in an actual book. I don’t have the ability to express what representation like that for the first time ever means. So you’ll have to see it for yourself by reading the novel." —Kav, Goodreads reviewer